7 reasons why I can’t wait to NIA

Last night, the fabulous Maggie posted this track from today’s NIA session.

Actually it was a cruel little teaser because all I wanted to do was rock it out, weaving magic around the living room. Or worse yet hooting my didge since that’s the only sound effect I’ve mastered to date. I’m sure my neighbours would have loved that – 10pm on a school night.

Now if you haven’t figured it out yet, I love my NIA sessions and wish I could do more than 1 per week. I really need to make that happen.

However there is more to NIA that swaying your hips, arching your bow, and unleashing your wild one.

Here are 7 things that NIA constantly teaches me about being a SuperNova.

1. When you stumble, make it part of your dance. 

Unlike a classical or structural dance routine there are no mistakes in the art of NIA. They’re just extensions of what’s up for you. If you really want to dance to your left, while we go the other way – rock it. It’s your dance.

2. It doesn’t matter what other people think.

I used to be pretty shy back in school … and I remember my very first dance class … and getting it all so wrong. I  kept feeling everyone’s eyes on me judging my every move.  I made it about fitting it and doing the right move without getting the gift of what was really being offered. Then I shifted. It doesn’t matter what other people think. In fact they’re to busy having fun to even notice what you’re up to.

3. Dance can also be a form of meditation.

I’d love to watch So you think you can dance, and admire how much they transcended through dance.

I tried a couple of dance things in my life hoping to find that. I discovered it didn’t exist in Tap dancing or in Irish – at least not for me.

Yet the magical thing about NIA is that it’s 100% about the experience of the breeze hugging your torso as you swirl around the room, or the feeling you get when you truly embody the dance.

When I NIA, I bring in all my SuperNova aspirations into the room and I get to virtually try them on by dancing it.

Strange concept, but it works for me.

4. It’s a lesson on being in the moment. 

What does it feel like to be a wild one?

What do you choose to embrace as you play with your inner child?

Where are you in the room right now?

How do you dance through your life?

5. Tribe doesn’t mean lemmings

We might all be dancing the same form but we get to do it with authenticity. Each person plants their feet to the beat of their own drum. Each person weaves their own experience … There is no right or wrong way of living your dance. You won’t get a F for not hitting the mark. It’s more about playing together than following a regime. Rock your own world. If it means being crazy, so be it. If it means being sexy, be it. It’s whatever it needs to be.

Live your dance. Honour your voice. Be true to yourself.

6. A chance to create yourself

I’ve played it wild, sexy, regal, and nonsensical. I don’t plan it that way, it’s just what comes out of the music. It’s kinda fun to embody the different realms that you occupy. It’s a powerful know yourself tool.

7. You choose your own intensity

You can make a big bang, crazy bang, cast a ripple or play it small. Chances are you’re not going to want to play it small when you get to see how much fun you can have – and how supported you are.  Start where you are. Sip it up and treasure it , and when you’re ready to make the leap – dive in.

 

So now I sit, drumming my fingers till the clock strikes 5pm today so that I can rock-n-nova!  In the meanwhile, I might as well make a bang!

Leave a Reply

